News Archive

AE PhD student, Efstathios (Stathis) Bakolas has accepted an offer to join the faculty of the Department of Aerospace Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin as an Assistant Professor starting August 2012.
Prof. P.K. Yeung is lead author of a paper featured as a Focus on Fluids (FoF) article in the June 2012 issue of the Journal of Fluid Mechanics (JFM).
AE alumnus Christopher T. Jones received a top award at the annual Black Engineer of the Year Award (BEYA) STEM Global Competitiveness Conference
Dr. Zahra Sotoudeh will join the faculty of the Department of Mechanical, Aerospace and Nuclear Engineering (MANE) at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI) as an Assistant Professor in August 2012.
Professor Tim Lieuwen has been appointed the Director of GT's Strategic Energy Institute (SEI).
Prof. Dewey Hodges has been selected to become a member of the Editorial Board of Nonlinear Dynamics Journal.
Our AE School organized and hosted the Space Shuttle Symposium here at Georgia Tech on June 6-8, 2011.
Prof. Julian Rimoli Invited Speaker at NSF Workshop in Geometry Processing and Finite/Boundary Element Methods
Corbin Klett was selected from the student body to provide the reflection at the Institute's 242nd Commencement ceremony on Friday, May 4, 2012.
A team of Aerospace Engineering students from ASDL (the Aerospace Systems Design Lab) at Georgia Tech took first place in their division at the 2012 SAE Aero Design East competition.
Maria Chierichetti will join the faculty of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Worcester Polytechnic Institute in August 2012.
Georgia Tech has been the only continuously funded RCOE for the past 30 years, and began the seventh multiyear funding phase (five years) in Fall 2011 with resources from the Army, NASA and Navy.
Three of the students NASA has selected for the 2012 class of Space Technology Research Fellows are in the AE School.
AE student David Miculescu has been selected for the 2012 Sigma Gamma Tau (SGT) Southeastern Regional Award
Mike Grant will be joining the faculty in the School of Aeronautics and Astronautics at Purdue University as a tenure-track Assistant Professor.
Jacqueline O’Connor, who graduated with her Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering in May 2012, has accepted an appointment to the faculty at the Pennsylvania State University to begin in August of 2013.
Dr. Santosh Hemchandra graduated with a Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering from Georgia Tech in April 2009 he has been an Assistant Professor at the Department of Aerospace Engineering at the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore, India.
Girish Chowdhary received his Ph.D. from the Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering in May 2011.
SpaceX launch a reminder thatspace geeks look to 'New Space' companies to boldly go where only governments used to go.
Mr. Tony Charaf, President of Delta Tech Ops at Delta Air Lines, has accepted an appointment to the School of AE Advisory Council (AESAC).